Sussex 1000 is a challenge I set myself after being inspired to ‘stay local’. On Saturday Sept 11th I will be setting off from a small village called Hammer and cycling 1000 miles over 20 days to finish at Camber on Thursday Sept 30th. I will be passing through every city, town and village of the county without crossing the border or travelling the same road more than once. I’ll be camping each night and generating my own electricity through a dynamo hub!

I will be stopping off at each of the Cadence cycling hubs along my route, a perfect meeting point for delicious food, decent coffee and friendly cyclists.

Click on the map below to enlarge, see the route in Google Maps or check out the individual day itineraries below that.

slider image

WOLO FOUNDATION

I will be raising money for the brilliant charity Wolo who help families across Sussex affected by cancer. They have also been a tremendous support and inspiration to me so I’ll be hugely grateful if you can help me beat my fundraising target of £1/mile by donating through the link below. THANK YOU!

THE 20 DAY PLAN

Day 1 –  Sat 11 Sept – Hammer to Eridge
Cadence Hub: Deers Leep
Campsite: Campfire Weekends
Distance: 72 miles | Uphill: 1,130 m | Ave climb per mile: 16m

Day 2 – Sun 12 Sept – Eridge to Fernhurst
Campsite: Night Pastures
Distance: 68 miles | Uphill: 990 m | Ave climb per mile: 15m

Day 3 –  Mon 13 Sept – Fernhurst to Wisborough Green
Campsite: Oaklands Camping at The Bat & Ball
Distance: 34 miles | Uphill: 690 m | Ave climb per mile: 20m

Day 4 – Tue 14 Sept – Wisborough Green to Hadlow Down
Campsite: Idle Hours Owlsbury
Distance: 53 miles | Uphill: 690 m | Ave climb per mile: 19m

Day 5 – Wed 15 Sept – Hadlow Down to Waldron
Campsite: Heronsdale Farm
Distance: 34 miles | Uphill: 770 m | Ave climb per mile: 23m

Day 6 – Thu 16 Sept – Waldron to Shipley
Campsite: Knepp Wildland Safaris
Distance: 46 miles | Uphill: 660 m | Ave climb per mile: 14m

Day 7 – Fri 17 Sept – Shipley to Graffham
Campsite: Graffham Camping & Caravan Club
Distance: 45 miles | Uphill: 530 m | Ave climb per mile: 12m

Day 8 – Sat 18 Sept – Graffham to Chailey
Campsite: Earth Camp
Distance: 49 miles | Uphill: 530 m | Ave climb per mile: 11m

Day 9 – Sun 19 Sept – Chailey to Northiam
Campsite: Eagles Garth
Distance: 63 miles | Uphill: 1200 m | Ave climb per mile: 19m

Day 10 – Mon 20 Sept – Northiam to Chiddingly
Campsite: Hale Farm
Distance: 45 miles | Uphill: 920 m | Ave climb per mile: 20m

Day 11 – Tue 21 Sept – Chiddingly to Storrington
Campsite: Little Rock Cottage
Distance: 52 miles | Uphill: 500 m | Ave climb per mile: 10m

Day 12 – Wed 22 Sept – Storrington to Walberton
Cadence Hub: Upwaltham
Campsite: Old farm Camping & Touring
Distance: 60 miles | Uphill: 930 m | Ave climb per mile: 16m

Day 13 – Thu 23 Sept – Walberton to Streat
Cadence Hub: Truleigh Hill
Campsite: Blackberry Wood
Distance: 45 miles | Uphill: 910 m | Ave climb per mile: 20m

Day 14 – Fri 24 Sept – Streat to Netherfield
Campsite: Netherfield Place Farm
Distance: 50 miles | Uphill: 640 m | Ave climb per mile: 13m

Day 15 – Sat 25 Sept – Netherfield to Wannock
Campsite: Bramley Park Camping
Distance: 52 miles | Uphill: 840 m | Ave climb per mile: 16m

Day 16 – Sun 26 Sept – Wannock to Firle
Cadence Hub: Litlington
Campsite: Firle Camp
Distance: 13 miles | Uphill: 340 m | Ave climb per mile: 26m

Day 17 – Mon 27 Sept – Firle to Ford
Campsite: Cuckoo Camp
Distance: 42 miles | Uphill: 420 m | Ave climb per mile: 10m

Day 18 – Tue 28 Sept – Ford to Selsey
Campsite: Warner Farm Holiday Park
Distance: 54 miles | Uphill: 180 m | Ave climb per mile: 3m

Day 19 – Wed 29 Sept – Selsey to Telscombe
Campsite: Stud Farm
Distance: 56 miles | Uphill: 250 m | Ave climb per mile: 4m

Day 20 – Thu 30 Sept – Telscombe to Camber
Cadence Hub: Eastbourne
Campsite: FINISH!
Distance: 63 miles | Uphill: 740 m | Ave climb per mile: 12m